University of Michigan - Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute


Board of Directors

Made up of 6 leaders from each university, the JI Board of Directors meets twice every year to review the development of JI and discuss the cooperation plan for the next step. Typical topics include JI progress on academics, faculty recruiting, research, facilities, student recruiting, budget, and international programs. The Board of Directors is the ultimate body for making all strategic and key decisions for the JI, including appointment of the Dean, tenure and promotion decisions.

University of Michigan

Mark S. Schlissel President (Board Co-chair)
Martha E. Pollack, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs  (Board Member)
Jack S. Hu Interim Vice President for Research (Board Member)
David C. Munson Jr., Dean, College of Engineering  (Board Member)
James Woolliscroft Dean, Medical School (Board Member)
Andrew D. Martin Dean, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts (Board Member)

Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Sixian Jiang Chairman of the SJTU Council (Board Co-chair)
Jie Zhang President (Board Member)
Zhongqin Lin Deputy President  (Board Member)
Lisa Xu Vice President for Education (Board Member)
Hong Mei Vice President for Research (Board Member)
Guoqiang Chen Vice President for Medical Affairs (Board Member)