University of California System

Exchange Programs

As one of the United States’ premier public university systems, the University of California was established in Berkeley in 1868. The UC system is now comprised of numerous campuses throughout beautiful California. Joint Institute students can participate in academic exchanges at Berkeley, Davis, Irvine, Los Angeles, Merced, Riverside, San Diego, Santa Barbara, or Santa Cruz. According to the Academic Ranking of World Universities, Berkeley is 4, Los Angeles is 12, and San Diego is 14. The UC system attracts talented scholars and students from all over the world, leading to teachers and researcher distinguished in almost every field and culturally and ethnically diverse curricular and extra-curricular environments.

Major: ECE or ME

Study Year: Junior or Senior

GPA Requirement: None

English Requirement: varies by campus

The academic year (mid-August to mid-May) at UC Berkeley (UCB) and UC Merced (UCM) consists of two 15-week terms, called semesters. At all UC campuses except UCB and UCM, each academic year (late September to mid-June) consists of three 10-week terms, called quarters. The summer term is not part of the regular academic exchange cycle.

 UC Term Dates 2016-17

Consult the individual campus websites for a list of course offerings. General information can be found at the following website:

 Reciprocity Student Guide

JI students continue to pay tuition at JI; no tuition is paid at the University of California. Dormitory costs and cost of living vary by campus.